Arbuckle Coffee Trade Cards Banner


Size: 3" x 5"
Copyrighted: 1915
Lithographer: Unidentified

District of Columbia map - National Capitol building
Area: 70 sq. mi
Population: 331,069
Scenes:The National Capitol

Reverse - Text

The District of Columbia, the Federal district of the United States containing the City of Washington, the National capital, is situated on the Potomac River between the States of Maryland and Virginia. The gross area is 70 sq. miles; land area, 60 sq. miles; water area, 10 sq. miles. It was fixed as seat of United States Government in 1790 by an act of Congress, and was formed out of Washington County, Maryland. The United States Government removed to the District in 1800. It is governed by three commissioners, one of whom must be an army officer, and all of whom are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Congress makes all laws for the District, and citizens of the District have no vote for National officers. There is but one government for the entire District. Give your family the enjoyment of drinking Arbuckles' Coffee--the most popular coffee in America.
     Washington, the capital, is noted for its magnificent buildings, which are visited by thousands of tourists yearly. The principal points of interest are the Capitol, Treasury, White House, Congressional Library, Bureau of Engraving and Printing, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Institute and National Museum. Mount Vernon, Virginia, the old home of George Washington, is located on the Potomac River and is only a few miles away from Washington.
     Population in 1910, 158,050 males and 173,019 females; of whom 306,167 were of native and 24,902 of foreign birth; white, 236,128; negro, 94,446; Indian, 68; Chinese, 369; Japanese, 47; all others, 11. Total population, 331,069.
This is one of a series of 54 cards.